my information

--- Issued Aug. 2, 2011

The Erie Housing Authority awarded $49,808 in scholarships for private elementary schools and colleges to 36 students on July 25 at Erie City Council Chambers at the Authority’s annual scholarship awards ceremony.

This is the 15th year for the Ellen Curry scholarship program. Ms. Curry served on the Housing Authority board for 29 years, from 1967 until her death in 1996. Before her death, Ellen organized and provided the initial funding for the Ellen Curry Foundation, to assist with the education of children who reside in public housing.

Last Monday evening, thirty-one students were awarded $44,808 – the highest amount ever -- to attend private elementary schools. The scholarship program is designed to help give public housing children the benefits of a private education. Since the Curry Scholarships began in the 1998-99 school year, 100 children have received $367,710 in scholarships.

In addition, another five public housing youths were awarded $1,000 in Louis J. Tullio Memorial Scholarships. These scholarships are meant to encourage higher education and self-esteem among high school and college students living in public housing and, also, to keep alive the memory and spirit of Mayor Louis J. Tullio, Erie’s only six-term mayor. Another purpose of the Tullio scholarship is to identify and assist these young adults to become role models for other public housing children. Since the Tullio awards program began in 1998, $71,000 in scholarships has been awarded.

Curry Scholarship winners for 2010-2011 are:

Ka’Marion Barney, Ariah Hinton, Amillyonna Pierce, Anjali Selvam, Tayhariom Pierce, Danaya Cooley, Leozha Gore, Armani Oosterkamp, Lyric Rutkowski, Armando Vargas, Alanna Blose, Judea Higgins-Morris, Alexis Proper, Levonne Rowan III, Victoria Tenon, Le’Fayeziah Simmons, Ayana Vargas, Opal Akol, Aala Marfing, Kiah Tolbert, Mar’zon Horton, Joseph Wisinski, Nyrie Burrows, KiShawn Higgins, James Coleman, Noah Laughner, Caitlyn Wisinski, Tehya Vargas, Akol Akol, and Rachael McClain.

These children will attend Luther Memorial Learning Center, St. James, St. Peter Cathedral School, Holy Family, Blessed Sacrament, St. John-Holy Rosary, Villa Maria Elementary, and St. Luke.

Winners of the 2010-11 Louis J. Tullio Scholarships were: Wujdan Ahmad, attending Slippery Rock University; Svetlana Momot, Mercyhurst North East; Sara Ponder, University of Pittsburgh at Bradford; Ibraheem Radhi, Penn State Behrend; and Sandrali Santiago, Mercyhurst College.

Both the Curry and Tullio scholarships are funded by private donations to the Ellen Curry Foundation.

For more information, contact John E. Horan, Executive Director, at 452-2425