my information

--- Issued July 28

The Erie Housing Authority awarded 27 public housing resident scholarships totaling $35,314 for elementary school and college on Monday, July 28, at 6:30 p.m. in Erie City Council Chambers at Erie City Hall.

HACE Honors Curry Scholarship award winners at the Ellen Curry Awards ceremony at Erie City Hall on July 28.

Shown above, from left, are Tullio scholarship winners Chol John and Ilyas Abukar; Board members Bishop Dwane Brock and Agnes Priscaro; Executive Director John E. Horan; Board Member Trelane C. Sherrod; and Tullio Scholarship winners Kseniya Kampova and Willie Andrew Gore. Scholarship winners An-Hoa Giang and Zakaria Sharif could not be present for the ceremony.

These scholarships are funded by private donations to the Ellen Curry Foundation. The Foundation was established in 1998 by the Housing Authority at the request of Ellen Curry who was a longtime member of the Authority Board. Curry left the bulk of her estate to the Ellen Curry Foundation for the education of public housing youth.

Twenty-one students were awarded a total of $28,314 to attend parochial elementary schools in the 11th annual Ellen Curry Scholarship awards presentation. The elementary school scholarship program is designed to help give public housing children the benefits of a private education.

In addition, six public housing youth were awarded $1,000 each at the Louis J. Tullio Memorial Scholarship presentation. These scholarships are meant to encourage higher education and self-esteem among high school and college students living in public housing and, also, to keep alive the memory and spirit of Mayor Louis J. Tullio, Erie’s only six-term mayor. Another purpose of the Tullio scholarship is to identify and assist these young adults to become role models for other public housing children.

Tullio scholarship winners are: Ilyas Abukar, who is attending Penn State University; An-Hoa Giang, who is attending the University of Rochester; Willie Andrew Gore, who is attending Allegheny College; Chol John, who will attend Mercyhurst College; Kseniya Kampova, who will attend Mercyhurst College; and Zakaria Sharif, attending Penn State University.

Curry Scholarship winners are: Akol and Opal Akol, Awar Biong, Nyrie Burrows, James Coleman, Kioni Cooley, Brooklynn Davis, Khodhir Faraj, Jr., KiShawn Higgings, Noah Laughner, Zuri Marshall, Rachael McClain, Dahan Lomax, Le’Fayeziah Simmons, Ayana and Tehya Vargas, Kiah Tolbert, Morgan Williams, and Caitlyn and Joseph Wisinski. These children will attend Cathedral Center, Blessed Sacrament, Luther Memorial Learning Center, St. James, St. John-Holy Rosary, St. Luke, and Holy Family schools.

Since the Curry Scholarships began in the 1998-99 school year, 79 children have received $255,870 in scholarships. Since the Tullio Scholarships began in the 1989-90 school year, 56 youth have received $56,000 in college scholarships.

Ellen Curry served on the Housing Authority Board for 29 years, until her death in 1996. Ellen promoted “people programs” for public housing residents, including Head Start, Day Care, Adult Education, Youth Centers, Drug and Alcohol Prevention, Domestic Abuse Counseling, and Economic Self-Sufficiency.

For more information, contact John E. Horan, Executive Director, at 452-2425.