--- Issued July 22, 2015

On Monday, July 20, at Erie City Hall, 20 elementary students were awarded $24,461in Ellen Curry Scholarships to attend elementary schools.

Click HERE to see the video of the awards presentation.

2015-16 Ellen Curry Scholarship Winners

In addition, another five public housing youths were awarded $1,000 in Louis J. Tullio Memorial Scholarships.

The Curry  scholarship program is designed to help give public housing children the benefits of a private education. Since these scholarships began in the 1998-99 school year, 120 children  have been awarded a total of $458,285 in Ellen Curry Scholarships.  These scholarships are funded by private donations to the Ellen Curry Foundation.

The Foundation was established in 1998 by the Housing Authority at the request of Ellen Curry, who was a longtime member of the Authority Board.

Curry left the bulk of her estate to the Ellen Curry Foundation for the education of public housing youth.

2015-16 Curry Scholarship winners are:

First grade: Gesinee Blose, Zion Clark, Haisalyn Coleman-Pierce, Xzavier Laboy, Gia Moyer, Zaid Sami. Second grade: Melody Desuah, Derionna Price, Garang Rag, Jamir Rowan, Amarieona Sanders. Third grade: Jamarion Coleman, Reish-Ka Dunn, Ne’Asiah Aukett, Nabaa Abdelnabi. Fourth grade: Amillyonna Pierce. Fifth grade: Armani Oosterkamp, Tayhariom Pierce. Sixth grade: Alanna Blose. Eighth grade: James Coleman.

These children will attend Blessed Sacrament, Holy Family, Saint James, Saint Luke, Luther Memorial and Saint Peter Cathedral.

The Louis J. Tullio Scholarships scholarships are meant to encourage higher education and self-esteem among high school and college students living in public housing and, also, to keep alive the memory and spirit of Mayor Louis J. Tullio, Erie’s only six-term mayor.
Another purpose of the Tullio Scholarship is to identify and assist these young adults to become role models for other public housing children.

2015-16 Tullio Scholarship Winners and the schools they are attending are:

Curtis Duck, University of Pittsburgh; Isaiah Howard, Mercyhurst University; Alek Lichniak, Penn State University; Kiana Morgan, Carlow University; Sara Waya, Allegheny College.